US PGA National Championship Winners

AUGUSTA, : Honorary starter Sam Snead of the US watches his opening drive off the 1st tee 11 April 2002, for the 2002 Masters Tournament at the Augusta National Golf Club in Augusta, GA. The eighty-nine year old Snead has won three Masters titles. (ROBERTO SCHMIDT/AFP/Getty Images)
There is an impressive list of champions in the PGA National ChampionshipÂ’s history. Until 2006, this championship was known as the PGA Club Professional Championship, with the likes of Sam Snead, Bob Rosburg, Ed Dougherty, Bruce Fleisher and the late Larry Gilbert all winning the championship along the way. Gilbert is the only three-time champion.

Rex Baxter Jr, Don Massengale, Laurie Hammer, Larry Webb, Bob Boyd and Brett Upper are all former tour pros who are also US PGA National Championship winners.

The first ever winner of the US PGA National Championship was Howell Fraser at Scottsdale in Arizona in 1968. Fraser posted a score of 272 which was only beaten many years later, in 1996, by Darrell Kestner who played to a score of 271 at the PGA West course in La Quinta, California.

The most recent winner of the US PGA National Championship is Chip Sullivan, who won at the Sunriver Resort in Sunriver, Oregon, in 2007 with a score of 282. In 2006, Ron Philo Jr. won at the Turning Stone Resort & Casino in Verona, New York, with a tight score of 278.

In 2005 the US PGA National Championship winner was Mike Small, who posted a relatively high score of 289 at the tricky Ocean Course at the Kiawah Island Golf Resort on Kiawah Island, South Carolina.

The year before, at the Longaberger Golf Club in Licking County, Ohio, Bob Sowards played all the right shots to post a score of 276 to take top honours in the US PGA National Championship.

Back in 2003, Tim Thelen played to a total score of 282 to win the championship at the Twin Warriors Golf Club in Santa Ana Pueblo, New Mexico.

Another US PGA National Championship previous winner was Barry Evans who, in 2002, posted a score of 281 at the Valhalla Golf Club in Louisville, Kentucky – that was a year after Wayne DeFrancesco played to 278 to win at the Crosswater Course at the Sunriver Resort in Oregon.

The most recent PGA National Championship winner is Scott Herbert who won the event in 2008 with a score of 276 (-12).